Farmer seed houses in West Africa, an idea once planted may grow on you
Photo-case-semences-Djimini-P1040823The seed granary of the farmer seed house in Djimini(Sénégal)

In West Africa, in response to the introduction of ameliorated seeds, hybrids, or genetically modified varieties, more and more farmers are becoming aware of the benefits of saving, multiplying, and selecting their traditional local and farmer varieties. With them, BEDE ‘sows and cultivates’ the concept of Seed houses, from Brazil. Each house is different, in its beginnings, its history and how it is organized.

► In Togo : In 2009 BEDE facilitated the participation of farmers from the sub-region at the farmer seed fair. For Jacques Nametougli, who sells seeds and fertilizer at his center for agricultural training (CD2A: Center for Agricultural and Artisanal Development), it was an epiphany.  He committed to return his fields and farming techniques to peasant agroecology.  Starting in 2010 he has gone from village to village searching for knowledge on local varieties from community elders.  An informal network has been created, with the assistance of BEDE, and at the end of 2011, the cooperative Agrobio-Savanes was created, the first Seed house in Togo.There is no physical centralized building. The seeds are most often stored at the homes of the member and/or at CD2A, from where they are handed out, often sold, sometimes given, lent or exchanged. This great work of Agrobio-Savanes will soon publish descriptive sheets of the principal cereal varieties and of traditional and local vegetables cultivated in northern Togo. This kind of action can help protect them from the risks of bio-pirating.

► In Benin: The context is different, but the birth of the Barienou seed house also started after the 2009 exchanges in Senegal and then in Mali. Omer Agoligan, at the time a producer of seed maize using chemical agricultural practices, discovered that, like many farmers, he is victim of the multinationals that work with the government. He threw himself into the fight for agroecology and farmer seeds. With the peasant farmers of Barienou, he created ORAD (Organization of Rural people for Sustainable Agriculture). Their first activities were training about composting, but the villages also had the idea to organize themselves around biodiversity. A traditional collective seed house was created. Here samples are kept of the seeds cultivated in the village. A follow-up committee, of which the imam is in charge, oversees what comes in and goes out, and the conservation of seeds. Each farmer is in charge of the cultivation and conservation of at least one traditional variety.

► In Senegal: Created in 2003, the ASPSP (Association Sénégalaise des Producteurs de Semences Paysannes / Senegalese association of farmer seed producers) is truly a national seed house, referencing the species and varieties of its members, offering training on farmer seed production, organizing seed exchanges, and more. …
At a local level, at the Biolopin farm in Djimini, a traditional seed house was constructed in 2013 in collaboration with BEDE (see photo above). Lamine Biaye is the principal initiator and is in charge of this seed house. Here you can find the seeds of Biolopin and an ever-growing part of the seeds of the women’s group of Tessito. This tool should allow for a better organization of the conservation and diffusion within the surrounding area, and perhaps even nationally.
The second Farmer Seed House is in Medina Wandifa, started by the Baragnigni association, essentially made up of women. Their determination enabled construction of a traditional seed house for cereals, and to find a space for vegetable seeds. It was not specifically designed for seed preservation, initially, but it is used while waiting to be able to build one specially dedidated. One of the members is in charge of the storage and distribution of seeds.

Each farmer seed house has its originality and has followed an individual path. There is still much to be refined: organizing varietal selection, good practices for preservation, storing/labeling, adding value, promoting, etc. However, it has been put in motion and now, the diversity of farmer seed houses must evolve, while adapting locally.

› Diversity of seed granaries

Back to top

› Go to “Collaborations in West Africa”

› Go to “Autonomous seed systems”

Les Cases de semences en Afrique de l’Ouest, un concept qui se sème et se cultive
Photo-case-semences-Djimini-P1040823Le grenier de la case de semences de Djimini (Sénégal)

En Afrique de l’Ouest, en réaction à l’introduction de semences améliorées, hybrides, voire de variétés génétiquement modifiées, de plus en plus de paysan-e-s prennent conscience de l’intérêt de conserver, multiplier et sélectionner leurs variétés traditionnelles locales et paysannes. Avec eux, BEDE « sème et cultive » le concept des “Maisons de la semence”, venu du Brésil et devenant en Afrique de l’Ouest des “Cases de semences”. Chaque case est différente, tant dans sa naissance, son histoire que son organisation.

► Au Togo: En 2009, BEDE facilite la participation de paysan-e-s de la sous-région à la foire des semences paysannes. Pour Jacques Nametougli, qui vend des semences et des engrais depuis son centre de formation agricole (CD2A: Centre pour le Développement Agricole et Artisanal), c’est un déclic, et il s’engage alors à reconvertir ses champs et pratiques en agroécologie paysanne. Il commence en 2010 la tournée des villages à la recherche des connaissances sur les variétés locales auprès des anciens. Un réseau informel se constitue. BEDE l’accompagnera pour que soit créée, fin 2011, la coopérative Agrobio-Savanes, première Case de semences au Togo. Il n’y a pas de case physique centralisée. Les semences sont stockées le plus souvent chez les adhérents et/ou au CD2A, d’où elles sont mises en circulation, souvent en vente, parfois données, prêtées ou échangées. Ce grand travail d’Agrobio-Savanes va prochainement aboutir à l’édition de fiches descriptives des principales variétés de céréales et de potagères traditionnelles et locales cultivées au nord Togo. Ce genre d’action, le cas échéant, peut permettre de les protéger des risques de bio-piratage.

► Au Bénin: Le contexte est différent, mais la naissance du grenier de semences de Bariénou commence également suite aux échanges de 2009 au Sénégal puis au Mali. Omer Agoligan, alors producteur de semences de maïs en agriculture chimique, découvre qu’il est, comme beaucoup d‘agriculteurs, victime des multinationales qui bénéficient de la complicité des gouvernements. Il se lance alors dans le combat pour l’agroécologie et les semences paysannes. Avec les paysans de Bariénou, il crée l’ORAD (Organisation des Ruraux pour une Agriculture Durable). Les premières actions concernent la formation au compostage, mais se développe aussi au sein des villages l’idée de s’organiser autour de la biodiversité. Un grenier traditionnel mais collectif est créé. Ce dernier reçoit les échantillons des semences cultivées dans le village. Un comité de suivi dont l’imam est le responsable, gère les entrées, les sorties et la conservation des semences. Chaque paysan a à charge la culture et la conservation d’au moins une variété traditionnelle.

► Au Sénégal: Créée en 2003, l’ASPSP (Association Sénégalaise des Producteurs de Semences Paysannes) est une véritable case de semences de niveau national, avec un référencement des espèces et variétés de ses membres, des formations à la production de semences paysannes, des foires d’échanges…
Plus localement, sur la ferme de Biolopin à Djimini, une case traditionnelle a été construite en mai 2013 en collaboration avec BEDE (photo ci-dessus). Lamine Biaye en est l’initiateur principal et le responsable. On y retrouve les semences de Biolopin et une partie de plus en plus importante des semences du groupement de femmes de Tessito. Cet outil devrait permettre de mieux organiser la conservation et la diffusion dans l’entourage voire au niveau du pays.
La seconde Case de semences est née à Médina Wandifa, à l’initiative de l’association Baragnigni, composée essentiellement de femmes. Leur détermination sur le sujet a permis de construire un grenier à semences traditionnel pour les céréales, et de trouver un local pour les semences maraîchères. A l’origine, il n’a pas été spécifiquement construit pour conserver les semences, mais il est utilisé en attendant de pouvoir en construire un spécialement dédié. C’est un des membres qui gère les stocks et la distribution des semences.

Les cases de semences ont chacune leur spécificité et leur chemin. Il reste encore beaucoup de choses à affiner : s’organiser sur la sélection, les bonnes pratiques de conservation, de stockage-étiquetage, la valorisation, la promotion, etc. Mais la dynamique est lancée et il faut maintenant qu’évolue cette diversité de cases des semences adaptées à chaque terroir.

› Diversité des greniers de conservation des semences

› Retour en haut de la page

› Aller à la page “Systèmes semenciers autonomes”

› Aller à la page “Collaborations en Afrique de l’Ouest”