Agroecological  management of soil fertility
in the Minervois
(Languedoc-Roussillon, France)

Gestion de la fertilité des sols par les engrais verts, ici par de la phacélie.

In the Minervois, the steps aimed at developing autonomous peasants in an agroecological context led BEDE and its local collaborators from Chemin Cueillant to become interested in sustainable soil fertility management, a central pillar of agroecology. Although BEDE generally works more to promote exchanges between local peasants to share their knowledge adapted to the territory, this step has made it necessary to search further for alternative techniques. Agroecological innovative methods exist that go far beyond organic or ancient practices, sometimes little used and not able to efficiently respond to the challenges of soils depleted as never before, plants weakened by inadequate selection, and a growing parasite pressure.

State of the soil : a desastrous situation

…result of passed practices

In the Minervois, as in a large part of the Languedoc subject to the intensification of viticulture, fertility was often approached through a short-term productivist lens. Chemical fertilizers (Nitrogen, Phosphorous, and Potassium) were usually applied annually to crops, allowing to maintain a high level of production despite a progressive degradation in organic matter (humus) in the soil through natural mineralization, particularly fast in the Mediterranean climate.
The Minervois, where agriculture has been almost exclusively viticulture for a long time, is one of the areas with the lowest levels of soil organic matter in the region.
Moreover, the massive use of synthetic pesticides as well as copper, a powerful fungicide, have contributed to the rarefaction of numerous life-forms in the soil (insects, worms, microorganisms…). The almost complete disappearance of earthworms in several land plots taken over by farmers of Chemin Cueillant, such as in Mailhac or Azillanet, is a strong witness to this.

…with numerous consequences

> Drastic reduction in natural soil fertility: without humus, the mineralization of organic matter and the freeing of natural nutritional elements is weak. Plants therefore have difficulty feeding themselves correctly without a regular addition of an easily assimilated form of nutrients, while at the same time these are exactly what is rendering the health of the plants more fragile, and even reducing the quality of the food product.
> Through lack of biological activity, certain chemical elements are even largely unavailable for crops though present in the soil.

 and beyond the simple problem of fertility :

> weakening the immune system of the cultivated plant leaves an easy access for diseases
> The terrain is favorable to pests and diseases due to lack of antagonist biological activity in the soil and on the plant (fungi that fight diseases, auxiliary insects for pests)
> poor infiltration of rainwater and excess run-off from intense rainfall when the soil is poorly structured means a poorer winter recharge of soils and leaving crops in a fragile state to cope with drought

Revitalization of the soil by green manure

All of the above shows why an ecological transition of agriculture or organic agriculture of the farms in an area cannot afford not to have a profound reflection on this question.
The farms of Chemin Cueillant do not escape this dilemma, even if their activity is often based on valuing low-yield but high quality viticulture, and therefore little greedy in fertilisation. Even in this case, a readjustment is required with regards to applications locally adapted to the diversity of the soil and climate conditions, the structure of the farms, and the means that each can access to respond to the question.

Training

Februray 2012 : The training with Michel Barbaud, an agronomist who developed a method to revitalize the soil, organized by the farmers of Chemin Cueillant with the help of the Civam bio 34, brought together around 20 producers.

Method presented : addition of composted organic matter rich in lignins to form a stable humus.
Materials : shredded green waste from the municipality or residue from forestry + microbial preparations based on lacto-fermentation with yeasts to inoculate with fungus that facilitates the process of aggradation of soil humus with the compost, while at the same time providing enough nutrients to plants in the short term.

Cultivation of green manure on the farms of Chemin Cueillant

Difficulties getting organic matter brought directly to the soil and the costs of such a step :
 Cultivation of green manure for three test farms of Chemin Cueillant in Gimios, Mailhac, and Azillanet. Certain plots were sown in the autumn/winter of 2010 with several beneficial crops :
rye in an olive orchard in Gimios,
faba bean between certain grapevines in Azillanet,
combination of vetch and oat in Mailhac.

Difficulty getting organic seed at a reasonable price :
Taking advantage of the natural cycles of weed plants (abundant in a mild climate): wild arugula, and wild oat.
The choice of waiting until the last moment to destroy weeds allows for these to bring a maximum of organic matter to the soil.

In 2011 and 2012, more significant seeding was carried out in the autumn :
mixes of oat and vetch, sometimes with barley and faba as well;
more complex mixes that include phacelia and mustard to better decompact the soil.

 >  Research and contact with local peasant farmers capable of producing them,

> Research on well-adapted population varieties to be reseeded without degeneration.

Autumn 2013, was rather unfavorable to sowing green manure, and few were sown despite the fact that a grouped order of seed was proposed, including a very interesting variety of faba for the first time, supplied by a farmer in the Tarn and Garonne department, and that we wish to have multiplied by a local cereal farmer. Faba appears to be a master plant allowing for good management in restoring soil fertility.

Zoom on green manure

End of 2013, we were able to propose a summary of this work to the farmers of Chemin Cueillant in the form of an evening of exchanges on the topic, and the distribution of a small summary report.

Training for the maintain of grass cover in vineyards

BEDE also participated in a training day organized by the federation of CIVAMs of the Languedoc-Roussillon on the theme of permanent grass cover in vineyards, where the CIVAM LR invited Xavier Delpuech of the IFVV (French Institute of Grapevine and Wine) to present. Several farmers from Chemin Cueillant participated, and the day provided for visiting planted vineyards in the Corbieres as well as vineyards of Chemin Cueillant, planted in the autumn with green manure.

› Back to top

Gestion agroécologique de la fertilité des sols
en Minervois
(Languedoc-Roussillon,
France)

Dans le Minervois, la démarche visant le développement d’autonomies paysannes dans un cadre agro-écologique a amené BEDE et ses collaborateurs locaux de l’association Chemin Cueillant à s’intéresser à la gestion durable de la fertilité des sols, pilier central de l’agro-écologie.
Bien que BEDE milite généralement dans le sens d’échanges entre paysans locaux pour partager des savoir-faire adaptés aux terroirs, cette démarche a nécessité d’aller chercher plus loin des alternatives techniques. Des approches agroécologiques innovantes existent qui vont bien plus loin que des pratiques biologiques ou ancestrales, parfois peu appropriées et ne pouvant répondre assez efficacement aux défis posés par des sols appauvris comme jamais auparavant, des plantes affaiblies par une sélection inadéquate, et une pression parasitaire accrue.

Etat des sols : un constat désastreux…

…fruit des pratiques passées
Dans le Minervois, comme dans une grande partie du Languedoc soumis à l’intensification des pratiques viticoles, la fertilité a trop souvent été abordée dans une optique de productivité à court terme. Des engrais chimiques (Azote (N), Phosphore (P) et Potassium (K)) étaient le plus souvent appliqués annuellement aux cultures, permettant de maintenir un haut niveau de production malgré une dégradation progressive de la matière organique (humus) des sols par minéralisation naturelle particulièrement rapide dans le climat méditerranéen.
Le Minervois, presque exclusivement viticole depuis longtemps, fait partie des territoires aux taux de matière organique les plus faibles de la région.
De plus, l’apport massif de pesticides de synthèse, mais aussi le cuivre qui constitue un fongicide puissant, a contribué à la raréfaction de nombreuses formes de vie du sol (insectes, vers, micro-organismes…). La quasi disparition des vers de terre dans de nombreuses parcelles reprises par des agriculteurs de Chemin Cueillant, comme à Mailhac ou Azillanet, en est un témoin fort.

…aux nombreuses conséquences
> réduction drastique de la fertilité naturelle des sols: sans humus, la minéralisation de matière organique et la libération naturelle d’éléments nutritifs sont faibles.
Les plantes ont alors du mal à se nourrir correctement sans apport extérieur régulier sous forme très assimilable, alors même que ces formes très assimilables sont celles qui fragilisent le plus la santé des plantes et réduisent la qualité des aliments produits.
> Par manque d’activité biologique, certains éléments chimiques se trouvent même largement indisponibles pour les cultures alors qu’ils sont présents dans les sols.

 et au delà d’un simple problème de fertilité :
>
affaiblissement immunitaire du végétal cultivé
> terrain favorable aux ravageurs et maladies par manque d’activité biologique antagoniste dans les sols et sur le végétal (champignons antagonistes aux maladies, insectes auxiliaires aux ravageurs).
> mauvaise infiltration de l’eau de pluie et excès de ruissellement lors d’épisodes pluvieux intenses en sol mal structuré à mauvaise recharge hivernale des sols et fragilité accrue des cultures face à la sécheresse.

Revitalisation des sols par les engrais verts

Tout cela montre pourquoi la transition écologique de l’agriculture sur un territoire et la conversion à l’agriculture biologique des fermes ne peut faire l’économie d’une réflexion de fond sur cette question. Les fermes de Chemin Cueillant, même si leur activité se base souvent sur la valorisation d’une viticulture de qualité à bas rendement, et par conséquent peu gourmande en fertilisation, n’y échappent pas. Même dans ce cas, un réajustement s’impose en vue d’applications adaptées localement à la diversité des conditions pédoclimatiques, des structures d’exploitations, et des moyens que chacun peut mettre en œuvre en vue d’y répondre.

Formation

Février 2012: formation avec Michel Barbaud, agronome qui a développé une méthode de revitalisation des sols, organisée par les paysans de Chemin Cueillant avec l’aide du Civam bio 34 a permis de réunir une vingtaine de producteurs.

Méthode présentée: apport de matière organique compostée riche en lignine pour former un humus stable.
Ressource: broyat de déchets verts de déchetterie ou de résidus d’exploitation forestière + préparations microbiennes à base de levain lacto-fermenté pour un ensemencement en champignons facilitant les processus d’aggradation de l’humus du sol par ce compost, tout en permettant une bonne alimentation des plantes sur le court terme.

Mise en culture d’engrais verts dans les fermes de Chemin Cueillant

Difficultés d’approvisionnement en matière organique à apporter directement aux sols et coût d’une telle démarche :
 Mise en culture d’engrais verts pour les trois fermes initiales de Chemin Cueillant à Gimios, Mailhac et Azillanet. Quelques parcelles ensemencées à l’automne/hiver 2010 en diverses cultures améliorantes :
seigle sur une parcelle d’oliviers à Gimios,
féverole entre certaines vignes à Azillanet,
association de vesce et d’avoine à Mailhac.

Difficulté à se fournir en semences biologiques à un prix abordable :
 Mise à profit des cycles naturels de plantes adventices (abondantes suite à un climat favorable): fausse-roquette, folle-avoine .
Le choix d’attendre le dernier moment pour détruire ces dernières a permis d’apporter aux sols un maximum de matière organique.

En 2011 et 2012, des semis plus conséquents ont pu être réalisés à l’automne :
méteils (mélanges) associant avoine et vesce, avec parfois aussi de l’orge et de la féverole;
mélanges plus complexes incluant phacélie et moutarde pour mieux décompacter les sols.

 >  Recherche et contacts avec des paysans locaux capables de les produire,

> Recherche de variétés populations adaptées pour être reproduites sans dégénérescence.

L’automne 2013 ayant été peu favorable au semis d’engrais verts, peu ont été effectués cette année-là malgré le fait qu’une commande groupée de semences ait été proposée, incluant pour la première fois une variété intéressante de féverole fournie par un paysan du Tarn et Garonne, et que nous souhaiterions faire multiplier par un céréalier local. La féverole semble être une plante maîtresse qui permettrait de gérer le retour à une bonne fertilité du sol.

› Zoom sur les engrais verts

Fin 2013, nous avons pu proposer aux paysans de Chemin Cueillant une synthèse de ce travail, à travers une soirée d’échange sur la question et la distribution d’un petit document de synthèse.

Formation sur l’enherbement permanent de la vigne

BEDE a également participé à une formation organisée en décembre par la fédération des CIVAMs Languedoc-Roussillon sur le thème de l’enherbement permanent de la vigne, où le CIVAM LR a également fait intervenir Xavier Delpuech de l’IFVV (Institut Français de la Vigne et du Vin). Cette journée à laquelle ont participé plusieurs paysans de Chemin Cueillant, a permis la visite de parcelles en enherbement permanent dans les Corbières, mais aussi de parcelles de membres de Chemin Cueillant avec des engrais verts semés à l’automne.